Miscellaneous Musings – 2018 NSDA Nationals Edition

Lawrence Zhou was the 2014 NSDA National Champion. He now works as an assistant coach for The Harker School and is a Lincoln-Douglas Debate Curriculum Director at the Victory Briefs Institute. Usually I don’t write multi-thousand-word rants about tournaments, but after a few years of attending this tournament and accumulating way too many thoughts about […]


VBI 2018 LD Camp Topics Announced

The topics that will be used in Lincoln-Douglas debate at VBI 2018 have been finalized for all locations. VBI Philadelphia (June 30 – July 13): Resolved: The United States ought to ban the use of eminent domain for economic development takings. VBI Los Angeles Session 1 (July 15 – Aug 4): Resolved: States ought to eliminate their nuclear […]


Lincoln Douglas Topics List for 2018-2019

Resolved: A just government ought to pay reparations to indigenous populations for historical oppression. Resolved: In a democracy, the public’s right to know ought to be valued above the right to privacy of candidates for public office. Resolved: In the United States criminal justice system, pre-trial detention for non-violent crimes is unjust. Resolved: States ought […]


Ishan Bhatt Wins NSDA Nationals

Congratulations to St. Andrew’s Episcopal’s Ishan Bhatt for winning the 2018 National Speech and Debate Tournament. In finals, Ishan defeated Brentwood’s Jackson Deconcini on 11-2 decision. Congratulations to the Top 14 placers. 14 – Selena Zhang 12 – Tess Welch 12 – Noah Love 12 – Eva Lamberson 8 – Mia Speier 8 – Namitha […]


NSDA Nationals LD Codes

Victory Briefs is hoping to make the pairings for LD at NSDA Nationals easier to read and centralize information concerning competitor and judge codes. Please fill out the following form with any information that you have concerning judge and competitor codes at NSDA Nationals! We’ll release all the information as it comes out in a […]


Insights in Instruction: Teaching Top and Novice Lab with Marshall Thompson

Last week, Victory Briefs released as part of its Curriculum Corner series a video interview with VBI staff Devane Murphy where he told us about his teaching methods, practices, and philosophy. Today, we’re continuing the series with a video interview with the VBI Director of Lincoln-Douglas Debate Marshall Thompson. Marshall is a former Walt Whitman […]

Curriculum Corner, VBI

Lincoln Douglas Debate Bid Tournaments 2018-19

Automatic Qualifier Octafinals at the previous season’s TOC Octafinal Qualifier Apple Valley (MN) Berkeley (CA) Bronx Science (NY) Emory (GA) Glenbrooks (IL) Greenhill (TX) Harvard (MA) Harvard-Westlake (CA) St. Mark’s (TX) Valley (IA) Quarterfinals Qualifiers Blake (MN) College Prep (CA) Florida Blue Key (FL) Grapevine (TX) Lexington (MA) Loyola (CA) Meadows (NV) Presentation (CA) Stanford […]


Gold Public Forum Qualifying Tournaments 2018-19

Automatic Qualifiers When Competing With Same Partnership: Octafinals at the previous season’s TOC Octafinals at the previous season’s NCFL National Tournament Top 14 at the previous season’s National Speech & Debate Association National Tournament Octafinal Qualifiers Apple Valley (MN) Arizona State (AZ) Berkeley (CA) Blake (MN) Bronx Science (NY) Emory (GA) Florida Blue Key (FL) […]


Silver Public Forum Qualifying Tournaments 2018-19

NOTE for 2018-19: The non-bid methods of qualifying for the Silver PF division are being revised.  This division will feature the international teams plus teams that qualify through an expanded number of metrics. These metrics include – (a)  -Obtaining a 5-2 or better record at the previous year TOC in the Gold TOC Division. (b)  -Reaching […]