Shawn Xiong Wins the Isidore Newman Invitational

Congratulations to Cypress Woods’ Xixiang “Shawn” Xiong for winning the 35th Isidore Newman Invitational! In finals, Shawn defeated Greenhill’s Mitali Mathur on a 2-1 decision. Shawn is coached by Heath Martin and Jared Woods. Mitali is coached by Aaron Timmons, Bekah Boyer, Rebecca Kuang, and Neil Conrad. Isidore Newman is a semis bid to the Tournament of Champions.


Kempner AB def. Northland Christian MZ (Maggie Zollo) 3-0

Northland Christian SH def. Greenhill GB (Graham Baker) 3-0

Vestavia Hills JP def. Flower Mound AZ (Audrey Zhang) 3-0

Cypress Woods XX def. Northland Christian DS (Diya Salian) 2-1

New Orleans Jesuit JH def. North Crowley AR (Andres Rosero) 3-0

Christ Episcopal MK def. Greenhill VA (Varad Agarwala) 2-1

Center for Talented Youth JL def. Greenhill BE (Benito Eckert) 2-1

Greenhill MM def. Flower Mound JS (Jalaj Sood) 3-0


Cypress Woods XX def. Christ Episcopal MK (Matthew Koshak) 3-0

Center for Talented Youth JL def. Kempner AB (Azam Baig) 2-1

Vestavia Hills JP advances over New Orleans Jesuit JH (Jim Huang)

Greenhill MM def. Northland Christian SH (Shania Hunt) 2-1


Cypress Woods XX def. Center for Talented Youth JL (Jae Lee) 3-0

Greenhill MM def. Vestavia Hills JP (Jack Patton) 2-1


Cypress Woods XX def. Greenhill MM (Mitali Mathur) 2-1


Cypress Woods XX (Xixiang Xiong)