Shawn Xiong Wins the 2013 Strake Jesuit Tournament

Congratulations to Cypress Woods’ Xixiang “Shawn” Xiong for winning the first annual Strake Jesuit Tournament! In finals, Shawn defeated Travis’ Arun Sharma on a 3-0 decision. Shawn is coached by Heath Martin and Jared Woods. Arun is coached by Laura Kennedy. Strake Jesuit is a finals bid to the Tournament of Champions.

Partial Double Octafinals

Marcus LH def. Dulles SK (Suchin Kundra) 3-0 (Sims, Cory, Sigalow)

Katy Taylor NY def. Kempner RA (Rafael Acosta) 3-0 (Heizelman, Sullivan, Harris)

Kinkaid TG over Kinkaid nk (Nina Kalluri) 

Katy Taylor JY def. Kinkaid eh (Emma Hanan) 3-0 (Koshak, Race, Hodge)

University AF def. St. John’s MH (Michael Huang) 3-0 (Cockroft, Wright, Dang)

Kinkaid MS def. Kempner VN (Vincent Nguyen) 3-0 (O’Neal, Ho, Kassam)


Clements FT def. Katy Taylor NY (Neel Yerneni) 3-0 (Wright, Sullivan, Hodge) 

Woodlands VM def. Marcus LH (Lyndie Ho) 2-1 (Wei, Tyger, *Hense) 

Cypress Woods XX def. Houston Memorial RM (Rajat Mehndiratta) 3-0 (Guha Majumdar, Avantsa, McCormick) 

Christ Episcopal MK def. Center for Talented Youth JL (Jae Lee) 2-1 (Lewis, *Dang, Beane) 

Travis AS def. Kinkaid MS (Michael Sands) 2-1 (Cory, *Woods, Race) 

Law Magnet DD def. University AF (Alejandro Frydman) 3-0 (Gorthey, Lonam, Sigalow) 

Katy Taylor JY def. Kempner AB (Azam Baig) 2-1 (Harris, *Heizelman, Kassam) 

Clements RG def. Kinkaid TG (Tyler Gamble) 2-1 (O’Neal, Spence, *Acevedo) 


Travis AS def. Christ Episcopal MK (Matthew Koshak) 3-0 (Race, McCormick, Castillo)

Cypress Woods XX def. Law Magnet DD (Dino DeLaO) 3-0 (Spence, Dang, Tyger)

Woodlands VM def. Katy Taylor JY (Jason Yang) 2-1 (*Heizelman, Wright, Gorthey)

Clements RG over Clements FT (Felix Tan)


Cypress Woods XX def. Woodlands VM (Venkatesh Muppaneni) 2-1 (Dang, *Heizelman, Gorthey)

Travis AS def. Clements RG (Rebecca Gelfer) 3-0 (Wright, Race, Kassam)


Cypress Woods XX def. Travis AS (Arun Sharma) 3-0 (Wright, Sullivan, Race)


Cypress Woods XX (Xixiang Xiong)