Varun Bhave Wins the 2015 Sunvitational



Fort Lauderdale, FL — Congratulations to Del Mar’s Varun Bhave for winning the 2015 Sunvitational Speech and Debate Tournament held at the University School of Nova Southeastern University. In finals, Varun defeated Cypress Bay’s Jake Steirn. Congratulations to both debaters! Sunvite is a quarterfinals bid to the Tournament of Champions.

Pairings can be found on Joy of Tournaments:



Strake Jesuit AT over Strake Jesuit ML

Cypress Bay JS def Bronx Science ES 3-0

Scarsdale RG def North Crowley AR 3-0

Del Mar VB def Bronx Science CL 3-0

Law Magnet DD def Lake Highland RS 2-1

Sacred Heart AT def Dreyfoos KR 3-0

Theodore Roosevelt EW def Bronx Science JS 2-1

Lake Highland NK def Cypress Bay JI 3-0

Strake Jesuit JZ def Bronx Science DR 3-0

Lake Highland AA def American Heritage 2-1

Oxbridge NV def Strake Jesuit KF 3-0

Strake Jesuit SM def Bronx Science ID 3-0

Scarsdale DW def Bronx Science OK 2-1

LAMP RR def Winter Springs JL 3-0

Lake Highland SP def North Allegheny 3-0



Cypress Bay JS def Lake Highland SP (Evnen, Hom, Ortega)

Strake Jesuit JZ def Lake Highland AA (DeVore, Reiter, Roth)

Del Mar VB def Strake Jesuit AT (Huett, Millman, Rojas)

Strake Jesuit SM def Theodore Roosevelt EW (Hymson, Wright, Hense)

Sacred Heart AT def Scarsdale DW (Ave, Struver, Biel)

Strake Jesuit XX def Law Magnet DD (Ditzian, Sigalow, Eastlund)

Lake Highland NK def Oxbridge NV (Levy, Castillo, Pregasen)

LAMP RR def Scarsdale RG (Lonam, Jain, Azbel)


Quarterfinals (bid)

Cypress Bay JS def LAMP RR (Ruchir Rastogi) 3-0 (Castillo, Lonam, Levy)

Strake Jesuit SM def Sacred Heart AT (Adam Tomasi) 3-0 (Sigalow, Millman, Hom)

Del Mar VB def Strake Jesuit XX (Anthony Tohme) 3-0 (Ditzian, Hymson, Wright)

Strake Jesuit JZ def Lake Highland NK (Neal Kapoor) 2-1 (Reiter*, Huett, DeVore)



Cypress Bay JS def Strake Jesuit JZ (Joe Zaghrini) 3-0 (Millman, Levy, Lonam)

Del Mar VB def Strake Jesuit SM (Sean McCormick) 2-1 (Sigalow*, Azbel, Reiter)



Del Mar VB def Cypress Bay JS (Jake Steirn) (Evnen, Levy, Ditzian)



Del Mar VB (Varun Bhave)